How to be a better roleplayer | PC Gamer

RPG gamers out there, LISTEN UP!!  Here’s an article that a bit of a read, but may give you a fresh perspective on RPGs you and I play.  Trust me, the title sounds a bit like click – bait on its worth your time.

Courtesy of PC Gamer.

image

http://www.pcgamer.com/how-to-be-a-better-roleplayer/

So the day went to shit….

Yesterday, I made my best effort to surprise Louie with a trip to one of her favorite gardens for Mother’s Day.  Unfortunately, the whole day went to shit, as Grace (being the “strong-willed” or as I tend to look at it undisciplined) 3 1/2-year old decided to do whatever she wanted.  Any other way; then she didn’t have, leading to fits and tons of frustration.  This went on from 12:30pm until about 4:30pm.

Don’t get us wrong, we tried, truly we tried EVERYTHING in our power to work things out as best as you can with a 3-year old.  Now, we know that there are some things that are not strong-willed behavior, like expecting things by demand or doing things on her terms.  (Which she does tend to do.)  Yet, there is no room for compromise with her, and if it’s met, it only delays the issue until later.

To say the least, it lead to me nearly blowing my cool and almost leading to laying a serious spanking.   I was furious, almost enraged beyond the point of cooling down.  Long story short, Grace ruined the day for us and someone was on a good punishment.  (No TV/phone/games/toys, just books in her room)

The moral of that day was, that I need to take a minute to cool down sometimes.  It’s such a pain in the ass to work with her sometimes.  We are trying almost everything, for the exception of corporal punishment and just TIRED of it.  (Louie is too, especially, because she is with her much more often than I.)  It was so bad, that when I was carrying Grace out to the car while I was pissed, she wanted a hug to try make up for it.  I told her no and that I didn’t want to give her one.  (Which was a first.  We shower our child with affection!)

I’m just hoping that much of these behaviors are a phase and can be corrected, to a point.

Any words of advice from more of the seasoned parents out there would be great! PLEASE!