The time has come…Resident Evil 7 in all of its 1st person goodness, is here! If you’re a fan of the series like me, you’ve run to the toilet bowl to go throw up a few times because of its move into 1st person. (Trust me, I NEVER wanted this and somehow Capcom has gone and done something that may ruin the series.) But after putting 4 hours into the game. I’ve gotta say, Resident Evil 7 is a GOOD GAME!! It plays well, it’s a fun and enjoyable experience. Still I’m not convinced yet, being a purist fan of the series. Let me explain.

First off, in regards to the story canon of the series being blended into the game, I’m not seeing it. Save for a few familiar names mentioned in files, it’s just not there yet. I know, I know, it gets better as I move along, but for now…nothin.

Cutting to the chase, combat is smooth and tense, but movement and reaction is paced in order to balance the tight quarters you fight in. All of the Resident Evil elements are here to accompany the game: blind corners, well-placed scare moments, old-school RE item management (limited inventory with a storage box), very limited ammo with more baddies than you can unload on.

So far…Resident Evil 7 is disturbing is a good way. Scenes are so vivid in their portrayal, I kinda of feel It’ll be hard trying to forget them. Encounters are designed to make you feel uneasy, keeping you on your toes and never leaving you comfortable in your surroundings. It’s kind of like a bloody glove that fits you, it feels nice but the
blood on your hands isn’t getting off by itself. Lucky for you the cops are banging at the door..so what do you do?!  That’s what it feels like!

Gameplay wise, this reminds me a little of Clock Tower, which was a game that kept the player running and hiding. Except here, you can fight back most of the time, even if you’re in a losing situation; which is essentially WHAT survival horror is. That is why RE7 hits its mark so well, as it goes back to it’s core purpose.

A few months back, I read an article about how The Evil Within was nothing but a Resident Evil 4 sequel under a different name. At that time, I’d disagreed with the author’s stance and believed that The Evil Within was it’s own experience despite it’s similar gameplay. As you played it, the game did play and feel like Capcom’s Resident
Evil 4. (After all, the director of the Resident Evil 1-4, Shinji Mikami helmed the production.)

The story had an overall feel that was grander than anything Resident Evil 4 had been. Sure, the similarities were there, but it was it’s own game. What struck me the wrong way, was how the company and Mikami were trying to sell the game. He and the company tried to say that it would bring survival horror, “back to it’s roots.” Now looking at Resident Evil 7, I truly believe that The Evil Within failed in doing that. Resident Evil 7 feels like Survival Horror’s return to form. 1st person view or not, this feeling different, a good different. As a fan, I’m not welcoming it into what I consider a true continuation of the series or a respectful sequel, UNTIL I’VE FINISHED IT!
But for now, it’s good, tense and frightening; which is GREAT!!

I’ll keep you posted!

