Gabrielle has some fantastic writing here. After reading the post, I clearly saw a parallel between your basic male gamers and “fake geek girls”. It’s nice to see a different perspective on things. CHECK HER PAGE OUT!

Gabrielle Huston

“Don’t become something just because someone else wants you to or because it’s easy. You won’t be happy.” ~Kristen Wiig

So I was talking with a new friend recently, who’s a big geek, just like me. And as the conversation went on, it turned to “Hey, have you played/watched/read -insert movie, tv show, book, or videogame-.” Which, honestly, isn’t uncommon. It’s a natural instinct to want to find that common ground, and with geeks there’s so much subculture at our fingertips that there’s a lot of possible common ground. Occasionally, this friend would bring up something I was unfamiliar with. MMORPG Tera, for example. While I’d heard of the game – and it’s even familiar enough that I wonder if I had actually played it before – I didn’t really know anything about it. But I said I’d played it.       The next logical question is “Why?” I didn’t know anything, and clearly…

View original post 813 more words