Occassionally, during my playthroughs of Fallout 4, I’m going to post diary entries on little discoveries I found fun during the game.  I hope you enjoy a bit of creative writing that I’ve made of these experiences.

image

THERE WILL BE MILD SPOILERS!  But expect it to more for your enjoyment.  I wont give away any details about the main storyline or side quests, do you are safe on that.

ENTRY ONE, The Sewer Reaper

7 February 2288, After receiving word about a nearby settlement getting unusual amounts of feral ghouls attacking their farm.  I set out to determine the origin of the ghoul’s nest.  It wasn’t long before I came across the smell of rotting carcasses, both living and dismembered.

Fortunately, I’d that rusty piece of shit
.38 caliber pipe pistol into true killing machine.  So I’d been leaving a trail of those pungiant bastards as I continued my search.  Four days later, a hundred rounds down and not a lot sleep, I’d tracked them to a sewer in The Fens.

Opening the manhole cover, I’m overwhelmed with reek stench beyond comprehension.  I wiped the tears from my face and regained my composure from nearly vomiting on the street.  This wasn’t my first time in a subway with ghouls, but the was the place all right.

Inside, all I could see was red; the dim lighting system down there was painted red, not paint…blood.  I needed to be silent if were to take on these feral zombies.  They were fast and ravenous, but dumb as fuck.  As moved into further in, I’d seen something I’d never seen before.

Two corpses…old and decomposed.  The first was strung…NO, pinned upside down.  The second was sitting on top of the revine, positioned as if he was fishing in it.  But he wasn’t…because he head was lobbed off of his shoulders and had been juryrigged onto the fishing pole he was holding.  As if, whomever killed them, toyed with them even after they died.  What..the…fuck?!

An answer was here, or at least a message.  The sick bastard that did this recorded on a holotape addressed to, “Detective”.  In a voice as deep as the bowels of hell; the murderer bragged of his power over his victims and that he was waiting for the “detective”.

Detective?!  Valentine?  Last I’d heard, he was missing or dead.  Perhaps this was my lead to his trail.

I moved on, fording through the vile sewer water.  The silent approach I had before was gone, plans change.  It was two ferals that quickly moved towards me.  Two permimantly dead corpses, which nearly reached me before I gave them four holes each in their chest.

Beyond the stench of rot, I pushed on through the flooded reservoir, into a labryinth of tunnels.  My God, whomever designed these tunnels must’ve wanted
people to get lost down here.

Came to a dead end, where I found a severed head with an old cigarette in its mouth, placed into a baby carraige.  This guy had to pay…for his sake, he’s going to meet a worse fate than those he killed.  Mr Killer, I have a plasma grenade with your name on it!

Another recording was on the ground.  He was gloating, that the detective was in his home and that the killer would me him the prey.  The tape ended with a sinister laugh, as I ejected it out of my wrist computer.  That laugh echoed from the computer through the tunnels and let every resident know I was here.

Rigging a few frag mines, and readying my combat shotgun, I prepared for whatever came down those tunnels.
Like a fly to shit, seven sprinted around the corner.  It was a shame I didn’t bring a faceshield and apron, what was left I ended up wearing on me.

Oddly enough, the noises diminished to snarls and the clicking of teeth.  They weren’t gone but something different.  The scent of ghoul remains reminded me, that anything that smelled of them, they ignored.

For the moment, I had the advantage and I made it through the tunnel.  An into the main reservior.  There had to be 30 or 40 of these bastards in here.  I was careful, one wrong step and I’m dead.  I was determined to just blow this place to hell, but I had another
reason to be here.

Valentine, the detective I’d been looking for, might be here.  I HAD TO FIND HIM.

There appeared to be an alcove nearby, I snuck into it.  Except it was another dead end.  Two more of the murderer’s victims were here, a couple laying next to each, brutally hacked up with a machette.  This last one seemed rushed.

I searched around for a way through and noticed a green flourescent light glowing.  It was 35 meters ahead of me.  I hastely moved towards it.  The light noticed me.

The green source was ALIVE, a ghoul like them.  Just being in my presence drove my geiger counter apeshit.  I didn’t waste any time; I unsheated my combat and drove the blade through the lower jaw.

It was  DEAD, and where I stood, my answers were given.  A dead husk laid on a gurney, with ripped up clothes and bones shredded open.  On the floor, an ID, a police officer’s.  Looks like we found our detective, but wasn’t my detective.  Looks like good doesnt always prevail.  At least I might’ve ended the sick bastard for him.

Throughtout this, my geiger counter continued to go nuts.  It seems these glowing ghouls are loaded with all kinds of zoomies.  The horde caught on to the geiger counter’s.  I had move out, and FAST!  I rigged a timer, a frag grenade and a mini nuke.  I ran like hell!

The geiger counter finally shut up after  I’d gotten above ground and the explosion subsided.  That was over…but I had a long road ahead.  Nick Valentine was still out there; alive or dead I had to find him.

P2D2 – Submarine Lookout Droid

