image

For about two weeks, I’ve been playing Fallout 4 throughout this duration.  Thus far, the experience has been overwhelming and underwhelming, with most of the former than the latter.

What makes my perspective a bit more appealing than the hordes of Vault 111 scouring the Boston Commonwealth.  Let’s just say, I’ve traversed the Capital Wasteland and surroundings four times over.  One with a platinum trophy on Ps3 and three more on PC using various Fallout mod overhauls.

image

This was done three more times in the Sierra Nevada in Fallout New Vegas with a completed game on Xbox 360 and two more trips with its heavily modded world.  Now I don’t know where every Mini Nuke is, but I now my Bethesda Fallout worlds.

image

With all of that said…and when I look back up at the last two paragraphs I just had you thinking that A) I’m a gloating asshole B) I just had a nerdgasm.  I apologize, for that, as I felt it was necessary that you get a real perspective from someone who has played through these titles enough to know what Fallout 4 is to those fans that haven’t gotten to playing it yet.  With that, I announce that….

NO SPOILERS WILL BE GIVEN

THE GOOD STUFF

Throughout these two weeks, I’ve going through quest after quest, searching sheds to hospitals and beyond.  I’ll admit, when you look at the size of the map, you feel like you got cheaped out.  But it fooled me and it will to you, too.  There is soooooo much going on in the game, IT IS OVERWHELMING!!!  (But in a GOOD way!)

With that said, the world this time around will get you killed far easier than previous Fallout games.  Which is also good, because this game was never to be designed casual gamers in mind.

It kind of reminds me of how the originals were.  (You know, Interplay’s Fallout 1 and 2?)

If you went wandering in the wrong spot, you were dead meat.  Now it was set-up so that you were to avoid the hot zones until a much later time.  Then there were the spots you just got unlucky and got your ass handed to you.  Fallout 4 does this fairly well.

Scavenging is now bigger than ever in this game, as they added settlements, Skyrim-like crafting benches and a new resources system.  (You’ll understand what I’m talking about when you get about 10 hours in)  This gave me a continuous motivation to search even deeper for materials and things may have needed.

Coupled along with the vast numbers of areas they’ve added for you to scour, I’d found that the interior level designs have made each area unique.  Now, I’m not talking about completely different environmental settings, but the little signs that show the level designers were having fun with quite a few of the areas.  (For example, I came across a bathroom stall that had a stuffed teddy bear sitting on the toilet reading a newspaper.)  This made me feel like there was more of a personal touch done to each area.

Going on quests in Fallout 4 is wayyyy better than before.  Not just in shear volume, but in content quality.  As a comparison, Fallout 3 had some pretty great quests, with a few peppered in that were filler.  But in terms of over numbers, there weren’t many.  Then Fallout New Vegas changed that, but they went with the more the better route.  But most of those quests go here, get this, end quest and get bottle caps routine.  (Aside from the main story and some side quests)

Fallout 4 took the best of both worlds and fit it nicely, so that even the misc quests are worth the experience doing, vice a mindless grind.

Later on, you gonna start finding companions.  In Fallout, you always do get companions and it seems like you get a very diverse and interesting cast of partners, much like Fallout New Vegas did.

Last, is the graphics.  Yes, I know that everyone is bitching about the graphics.   But people don’t room to talk…I mean there is just soooo much content and layers to every environment.  In terms of how this title looks like compared to the last two titles, IT IS IN LEAPS AHEAD FROM THEM.

NOW…FOR THE UNDERWHELMING STUFF

Crafting in this title is great, but what bothered me, is the fact of how limiting the modding of weapons and apparel is.  Trust me, it MUCH better than before, but I was hoping for more.  (Perhaps Bethesda is leaving creative room for modders, which BTW both consoles and PC will have mods accessable to them EVENTUALLY.)

A big one I will have to agree on is…the bugs.  And HOLY SHIT is there a lot of them.  From the poor companion AI (which has improved), to the eyebots and character getting stuck in the damn walls and floors.  UGH!!  (At least they are patching rather quickly this time around!!)

Another was the character models, sounds and animations.  Which were improved, but not enough to truly show off some skill.  Many of the animations just look like improvements from previous games, with the weapon sounds barely changing at all.  (Hopefully, mods fix that too!)

One last thing that bothered me, and I think this is for everyone.  Was how monotonous scavenging became after a while.  Which I will fully admit is probably from playing too much.  (Perhaps this isn’t a valid complaint but an excuse to say, “Okay, time to put the controller down and do something else.”)

All in all, the experience so far has been GREAT and I look forward to finishing this and exploring as much as possible.  If you haven’t gotten a chance to pick up Fallout 4, it is worth every penny.  Be forewarned the Commonwealth is a difficult place to survive…so only the strongest will overcome it.

